ECHL Teams release their Protected Lists

ECHL teams released their Protected Lists yesterday which basically allows teams to “protect” a group of their players (based on the rules stated below) giving teams exclusive negotiating rights through July 1st. The more crucial list is a team’s “Season Ending Roster” (consisting of up to 20 players) which will be released on June 15th and teams can begin to sign players beginning June 16th. A team’s Season Ending Roster establishes the core of players for each team’s Qualifying Offers given to 8 of their players to be submitted by June 30th, and released publicly on July 1st.

You will notice that some teams protected a few of their players who have already signed overseas, however that just allows a team to negotiate with the player should their plans change.

Any ECHL Players who were assigned to an ECHL team by the National Hockey League or American Hockey League affiliate or team will not appear on the Protected lists since they cannot be protected.

Any in-season Future Consideration trades must be completed by June 13th. If your team owes a team a future consideration or another team owes your team a future consideration, those trades must be completed by June 13th.

“The ECHL on Tuesday announced the Protected Lists as submitted by each of its Member teams.

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

1. Signed an SPC in 2014-15 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR

2. Signed an SPC in 2014-15, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR

3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR

4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR

5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2014-15 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR

6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released.

Protected lists may exceed 20 players.

The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13 and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15.

Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2014-15.”

View the ECHL teams Protected Lists. TTF will cover each step of this process through June and July. Stay tuned!

(Apologies for the delay in releasing this since your Tend the Farm crew was busy with our BIG news released yesterday.)