Taylor Fedun A Finalist For Yanick Dupré Memorial Award, Named Barons “Man Of The Year”

Photo by Steven Christy

Each season of American Hockey League play, teams cast their votes for the player that exemplifies the most sturdy of commitments to community and local charitable organizations. Taylor Fedun earns that honor this season, and that’s a perfect choice. An important part of the Oklahoma City Barons on ice success, and an even bigger part of the Habitat for Humanity and Barons Buddies programs that reach a far greater group of individuals outside the confines of the Cox Center. Not without his own personal struggles, Fedun empathizes with people needing a helping hand, and this is the most admirable of qualities from the defenseman.

He will join a list of players in the running for the Yanick Dupre Award which is given annually to the AHL Man of the Year. Fedun, like every player on this list, deserved a hearty “CONGRATS” and a good hand shake. Doing the work in the community can be exhausting, and time consuming. I’m proud that Taylor has done such a winsome job. Well done.

Full list of finalists:

Corban Knight, Abbotsford Heat (1st-time winner)
Zack FitzGerald, Adirondack Phantoms (2nd)
Dan Kelly, Albany Devils (1st)
Corey Cowick, Binghamton Senators (1st)
Chris Bruton, Bridgeport Sound Tigers (1st)
Matt Marquardt, Charlotte Checkers (1st)
Michael Davies, Chicago Wolves (1st)
Tom McCollum, Grand Rapids Griffins (1st)
Morgan Ellis, Hamilton Bulldogs (1st)
Ryan Bourque, Hartford Wolf Pack (1st)
Cameron Schilling, Hershey Bears (1st)
Jonathon Blum, Iowa Wild (1st)
Bryan Lerg, Lake Erie Monsters (1st)
Andrew Campbell, Manchester Monarchs (3rd)
Mark Van Guilder, Milwaukee Admirals (4th)
Mat Clark, Norfolk Admirals (2nd)
Taylor Fedun, Oklahoma City Barons (1st)
Kyle Hagel, Portland Pirates (4th)
Mike Moore, Providence Bruins (3rd)
Matt MacKenzie, Rochester Americans (1st)
Pat Mullane, Rockford IceHogs (1st)
Joey Crabb, San Antonio Rampage (1st)
Andrew Joudrey, Springfield Falcons (2nd)
Jason Jaffray, St. John’s IceCaps (2nd)
Eric Neilson, Syracuse Crunch (6th)
Jack Campbell, Texas Stars (1st)
Drew MacIntyre, Toronto Marlies (2nd)
Brandon DeFazio, Utica Comets (3rd)
Pierre-Luc Letourneau-Leblond, W-B/Scranton Penguins (1st)
Konrad Abeltshauser, Worcester Sharks (1st)